Skip to content

Top 5 guitar solos!

July 6, 2015

Guitar solos, love them or love them even more! A good guitar solo can take over a song or even make the song, while bad ones can kill it. And with the genres of power/heavy and neoclassical metal that has so many talented guitarists, we have hundreds of them! So making a top 5 guitar solos post is offcourse impossible. But i will do a perfect job choosing 5 worthy one atleast!

Helloween – I’m Alive (01:17 – 02:37)
A classic song with a solo that has always been stuck in my head since I first heard it.

Rhapsody Of Fire – Gargoyles, Angels Of Darkness (09:55 – 11:20)
Picking a favourite Luca Turilli solo is really hard. But there is one solo that stands out among the rest, and it is the one in “gargoyles angels of darkness”. In this 19 minute epic piece, this solo just comes in and transform the song into something new. Its Magic!

Dragonforce – Heartbreak Armageddon (3:54 – 6:42)
Dragonforce has tons of cool solos that I just love. In the end, it was this and “Above Winter moonlight”, but Heartbreak Armageddon is just… special. I can’t put my word on it. It is so calm, melodic, beautiful and aggressive at the same time.

Galneryus – Angel Of Salvation (SYU. 04:32 – 06:40 > 08:03 – 09:27)
Every solo on this list is very difficult to play and technical challenging. Yet, this solo stands out even more than the rest. It has a very neoclassical feeling to it. Giving vibes all the way from Vivaldi to Malmsteen. And it sounds so majestic. The main theme for the solo is also very catchy. The solo is split into 2 parts. So technically, this is 2 solos, but I will count them as one.

Yngwie Malmsteen – Far Beyond The Sun
This just had to be here. A timeless classic. An album that changed a lot, a song that will always be remembered.  And its Swedish too 😀

In a world of a thousands of thousands of good solos, which do you choose? Honestly, this was a difficult post to write. I am happy with my choices, but there are just so many more good solos to be on here. Technical difficulties for example is a song I wanted to be on this list. But I just cant remove any of these choices. I am sure you – the reader – will probably think, why isn’t that song on here? I need to have a limit, and 5 songs are simple. This is offcourse not an actucal top 5. This is just, 5 very freaking awesome guitar solos.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment